Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
James tutors in Brooklyn, NY

James L.

Private tutor in Brooklyn, NY

Education

Fairfield U. - B.A., English/History , Ohio State - M.A., English

Experience

I am currently teaching World Lit at the College of New York Brooklyn, and previously taught Freshman Comp and more advanced courses at both Ohio State University and Capital University (Ohio). I also taught English at the College of Staten Island. Prior to my teaching career, I was an attorney in the state of Connecticut and am still barred there today. I have a deep love of the law, but feel even more passion for educating and helping others learn. I'm an experienced teacher who can help you or your student with a variety of courses, such as Essay Editing, Literature, English, Writing, High School or College English, and Comparative Literature. For those challenging Advanced Placement courses, I can tutor AP English Language and Composition and AP English Literature and Composition. If your goal is to prepare yourself or your student for testing, I can help you prepare for mid-terms and finals, ACT English, SAT Reading, LSAT Analytical Reasoning, LSAT Logical Reasoning, LSAT Reading Comprehension, GRE Analytical Writing, or GRE Verbal Reasoning. At home, I enjoy reading both fiction and non-fiction, working on my writing projects, and practicing yoga and meditating. I like to walk through the many diverse neighborhoods in the city, and attend plays and concerts.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I like to read fiction and, interesting, non-fiction; I practice yoga; see plays, especially dramas, when I can; I explore new neighborhoods in New York; attend music shows; learn more about meditation; and, work on my own writing projects.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!