Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Christopher tutors in Brooklyn, NY

Christopher B.

Private tutor in Brooklyn, NY

Christopher B.543

43 reviews

Education

Fordham University - BA, International Studies , Johns Hopkins University - MA, International Relations

Experience

I'm from Washington, D.C. I've attended both Fordham University and Johns Hopkins University. I'm very excited at the prospect of using the teaching experience gained during my stint in the United States Peace Corps to good use by taking on tutoring assignments.I also have previous experience working as a reading tutor in East Harlem, NY, at a community center. Working with students allows me to take my own extensive knowledge base and use it to assist pupils to achieve their learning goals. I'm quite keen about learning myself, and I want to share my own love of learning with the young people I interact with. I feel that I can do this through tutoring.When working with a pupil, I take steps to discover their personality and style of learning. Based on this information, I can adapt my methods to meet their unique needs.I'm interested in tutoring assignments in these subjects: Pre-Algebra, Algebra (1-4), Geometry, Elementary Math, Trigonometry, ESL/ELL, English, Reading, Writing, Grammar and Mechanics, Literature, College Essays, Essay Editing, American History, European History, AP (Comparative Government and Politics, Human Geography, US Government & Politics), IB (Social and Cultural Anthropology), GRE (Verbal, Quantitative, and Subject Tests), Graduate Test Prep, SAT (Verbal, Mathematics, Critical Reading, and Subject Tests), and Public Speaking.My interests include reading, writing and performing comedy, going to the movies, and cooking. I also enjoy fishing, camping, hiking, bicycling, and traveling as often as I can.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading, writing and performing comedy, going to the movies, fishing, hiking, camping, bicycling, cooking new and delicious meals, traveling as much as possible.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!