Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Justin tutors in Brooklyn, NY

Justin R.

Private tutor in Brooklyn, NY

Education

University of Florida - BS, Journalism, English Minor , Graduate Center at CUNY - MS, Computational Linguistics

Experience

I have five years of experience as a tutor. During that time I've been able to share knowledge I obtained throughout my academic career, but I've also develop new skills and increased my tutoring library. I've helped students at the college, graduate school, and high school level prepare for admissions exams, and I have helped students of all ages learn humanities, science, math, and foreign language learning. I enjoy working with gifted students from top high schools in the New York area. The students present fun challenges and are always excited to learn. I've had the opportunity to run a nonprofit tutoring center, and through this experience I've acquired additional tutoring skills and a sense of what methods are the most effective to help students learn. When I work with students, I want them to learn the topic at hand, but I also want them to enjoy the subjects that we study. When students actually like a topic, they are more inclined to want to learn it. I also aim to help students develop problem-solving skills so they can face math and science topics and answer questions on their own. I'm currently studying computational linguistics for my master's degree, and I'm fascinated by the technology to interface languages human speak with computer science. I speak German, English, and Spanish myself, and I'm happy to help students develop their skills in these languages as well. In my free time, I like to do woodwork, cook, bike, camp, travel, do puzzles, write, and read.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

literature, biking, carpentry, wilderness, cooking, puzzles, and travel

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!